My Blogging Experience

March 19, 2010

A visual world, but visual schools??

Filed under: Education — Tags: , , , , , , — debyj @ 5:58 pm

I just viewed an Elluminate presentation given by Dean on the topic “Let’s Get Visual”. I remember watching a couple videos on this particular topic in ECMP 355 and being inspired to change the way I create and use PowerPoints. This is something that I believe all teachers (including professors) need to be aware of and take into consideration. Too many people create PowerPoints for the wrong reasons. I think they need to help tell a story and communicate ideas rather than list everything you would like to say. They also should be used to engage learners and add to a presentation. You are ultimately the presentation, NOT your PowerPoint.

Flickr CC-bdieu

If you want to find some excellent resources for creating great Visual Presentations:

Slideshare

Dan Meyer using images in the Math classroom.

Flickr

Compfight

-Your personal CAMERA

– Creative Commons Powerpoint (great powerpoint and an educational topic)

I got to teach a photography unit in CPT 10 during my internship. I knew a bit about photography, but I did have to do some research of my own in order to create the unit. I am really glad that I did some practice on my own and actually used my own pictures to create a PowerPoint for the students. It was really interesting for me discovering how challenging the students found this unit. With digital cameras today, we will take 300 pictures in a day and 50 of those pictures will be of the same thing. We do not think much about how we compose our photos because we assume one of the 50 photos will be good enough. I think we should think more about the pictures we are taking and do our best to make them a great visual representation of a story/situation. There are so many photos available online now for use and I think we should be careful when selecting them for visual presentations. Do not just pick a random photo you think looks nice. Pick one that is going to be not only a good example to students of good photography but one that also portrays the message you are trying to get across.

1 Comment »

  1. Great post Deborah. It really is the person that is the presentation, not the PowerPoint. Even this semester, I have lost count of the PowerPoints that university students read verbatim. It’s painful– perhaps more painful than seeing super-generic clipart. I got to be part of a photography class during internship. It’s really hard to get different-looking pictures when students are often stuck to the confines of an ugly high school. Some of the greatest pictures were taken outside of class, and most students preferred to shoot their stuff on the weekend. There’s too muc variety in this city to shoot pictures indoors.

    Comment by Mike Wolf — March 20, 2010 @ 4:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

